A few months ago, I considered starting my own blog, however, I did not start blogging until after I started reading Six Pixels of Separation by Mitch Joel. I want to thank my good friend, a Public Relations student (http://babatundesblab.wordpress.com/), who recommended this book to me. Reading it was really the tipping point for the creation of this blog and also for the successful launch of it (500+ views within the first week, 1000+ views within the first 15 days). A large part of the success is because I created my blog with the intention of creating value, a message that is emphasized throughout this book.

bookThe tagline of the book really justifies the overall message of the book: Everyone is Connected. Connect your business to Everyone. It emphasizes the importance of online presence and online participation using medians such as Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Google. One of my favourite lines in the book is “Your brand is not what you say it is…it’s what Google says it is” – Chris Anderson (editor-in-chief at Wired magazine and best-selling author of The Long Tail).

Written by a digital marketing expert, this book captures the essence of communication in the modern day. It integrates digital marketing, social media, personal branding, and entrepreneurship in a way that I find to be easy to understand and apply. The application value of this book cannot be overstated and I personally know this because I applied the concepts and ideas presented in this book in the early developmental phases of my blog. Everything from the creation of value, the importance of search engines, the use of SEO techniques, the value of targeting a niche, to the importance of trust online has influenced what type of content my blog contains and the way in which the content is written, shared, and marketed.

In my opinion, this is a must-read for anyone that wants to be knowledgeable about the present state of communication, social media, and the internet. It contains many valuable ideas and concepts with great application value.

