Hey guys,

While I was back in Ottawa for the weekend I finally discovered the wonderful world of podcasts! I was originally searching for audiobooks to listen to on my bus ride back to Toronto since I grew tired of listening to the same songs I had on my iPhone.

What is a podcast?

“A podcast (or non-streamed webcast) is a series of digital media files (either audio or video) that are released episodically and often downloaded through web syndication. The word replaced webcast in common use with the success of the iPod and its role in the rising popularity and innovation of web feeds.”

– Wikipedia

I wanted my commute to be a productive activity and listening to music really doesn’t fall into that category. Also, I don’t like reading on the bus, so I began browsing iTunes for audiobooks and I stumbled upon podcasts. I was familiar with them but never really gave them a try. I thought I’d download a few to see what they were about since they were offered for free anyways.

I launched iTunes on my iPhone and browsed the “Top Tens” section of the podcasts. They were further broken down into categories such as Education, Comedy, TV & Film, Health, Arts, Music, etc.

Some of the podcasts I downloaded:

  • Coffee Break Spanish
  • The Economist
  • Harvard Business Review IdeaCast
  • Six Pixels of Separation
  • Entrepreneur Podcast
  • Tiesto’s Club Life
  • A State of Trance
  • CBC Radio
  • Discovery Channel (video podcast)
  • The Joe Rogan Experience
  • TEDTalks

I didn’t get a chance to listen to all of them even though my commute was 6 hours long. Of the podcasts that I listened to, the ones that I found to be the most valuable and interesting were The Economist, HBR IdeaCast, and Coffee Break Spanish. There are a variety of podcasts out there to suit your own interests and I encourage everyone to take a look into them. Use your time efficiently and learn on the go! Make your time count!

